No Image Available

Jake Guest

Read more from Jake Guest

googletag.cmd.push(function() { googletag.display(‘div-gpt-ad-1705321608055-0’); });

Internship Training contract agreement. Need help before I’m forced to sign.

default-16x9

Hello all,

I'm hoping someone will be able to help me with this issue. I graduated University in 2015 and found a job working in a field that really looked like it was going to help me get into a career I would love. I applied for the job under the title 'Graphic Design Internship'. In this job description it was stated that the successful candidate would recieve 'Extensive training' and the Internship would last 12 months in total.

Initially, I began the work and took the training. This training was not extensive by any stretch, and measured a length of 3 days. I didn't feel sufficiently trained, but persevered as the job required me do other things whilst working here.

When I began the job, I was required to sign a contract for both my Internship (spanning 12 months) and a separate training contract (spanning 12 months) that stated if I were to leave within 12 months of signing, I would be liable to pay back the entirety of the training costs (£1170).

7 Months have gone by, and I have spoken to the manager about the fact that I don't feel I have been sufficiently trained to do my job. They have agreed to sort out more training for me over the next few weeks, but they have now come to me and asked me to sign another contract for 12 months, starting now. I do not want to sign this contract as it doesn't only bridge the initial contracts I have, but I feel that the 'extensive training' should be covered in the Internship. I appreciate that they have to cover themselves incase I leave, but seeing as the Internship was supposed to be provided with Training, surely they can't require me to sign a contract that extends past the end of my Internship, can they?