No Image Available

Ben Kirby

Teleperformance

International Trainer

Read more from Ben Kirby

googletag.cmd.push(function() { googletag.display(‘div-gpt-ad-1705321608055-0’); });

Youtube etc – Copyright in TRaining

default-16x9

Hi All

First time post here.I have a question re: the sharing of Youtube etc as part of a training program.

I am not a legal expert but if we have vidoe links within our training programs for youtube which we display in a class, does this breach any copyright? Or is it down to the nature of content - for example if a small part of a film that is not uploaded by the "owner" then it is an issue?

Thanks

6 Responses

1. That’s a tricky one. On the
    That’s a tricky one. On the one hand you would require a license to show any copyrighted material to a public audience I believe. On the other – I’m sure there are people streaming videos from YouTube in training classes right now!

If the links are going to form part of your course and you are linking to them from your own literature then I’d seek further advice just to be sure.

I’d also stay away from any content that you believe to have been uploaded without the permission of the creator (film and TV clips etc) – not least because if you include links to this and they are taken down (likely) then you’ve got a load of admin and additional resources to find!

2. This is still a bit of a grey
    This is still a bit of a grey area, but in practice, here is the latest thinking in this area.

Streaming a YouTube video clip live in a classroom session should be OK. It’s thought that it’s the person who uploaded the video in the first place that needs to be mindful of copyright law, but that merely viewing something that is there should be OK, particularly if it’s done in an educational context (which is often an exemption in some jurisdictions).